Stuart Mill English

How to Learn, How to Teach English

How to listen to this song: If a Song Could Get Me You by Marit Larsen

How to listen to this song: “If a Song Could Get Me You” by Marit Larsen

You can also listen here, here, and here.

First Listening Question

What is this song about?

Second Listening Questions

Just guess. Who do you think ended the relationship? The girl or the boy?

What would she do to get him to be with her again?

Now read the lyrics

If A Song Could Get Me You Lyrics

I could try you with a waltz
I could try rock and roll
I could try it with the blues
If a song would do

I could sing it high or low
When I let you go you know
I thought it was for the best
Now it is so obvious

So here it is, here it goes
I could try it rock and roll
Change your life forever too
If a song could get me you
I could make it high or low
Sing it on the radio
If that is what I need to do
If a song could get me you

I could run for miles and miles
I’d take off and I’d start flying
I could cross land and sea
If you just believe me

I should not have hurt you so
This old house is not a home
Without you here, there’s no use
I’ve got no time left to lose

So here it is, here it goes
I could try it rock and roll
Change your life forever too
If a song could get me you
I could make it high or low
Sing it on the radio
If that is what I need to do
If a song could get me you

If a song could get me through
I’d sing my way, right back to you
Tell me how, to make it right
Tell me now, I’ll start tonight
I know I could make it last

I swear to you that if I knew
What I was getting myself into
I wouldn’t answer to my fears
I’d never leave you standing there

Just look at me

If you’d only see me
I would prove my love for you
I could swallow half the moon
Just tell me where, tell me when
I will have you back again

Yeah, here it is, here it goes
I could try rock and roll
Change your life forever too
If a song could get me you
I could make it high or low
Sing it on the radio
If that is what I need to do
If a song could get me you

Yeah, here it is, here it goes
I could try it rock and roll
Change your life forever too
If a song could get me you
I could make it high or low
Sing it on the radio
If that is what I need to do
If a song could get me you

Third Listening Questions

The main line of the song is “If a song could get me you”. This is half of a conditional sentence. How might you finish it? (Hint: There are many examples in the song.)

When do we use conditionals like this?

Who ended the relationship? How do you know?

What three types of music does she mention in the song?

Other than writing a song for him, what are some other things she says she would do?

A Little Extra

What things would you do? Try and write another verse to the song to help Marit get her boyfriend back.

First Listening Answers

What is this song about? This song is about a girl who wants to write a song to get her boyfriend to come back to her.

Second Listening Answers

Just guess. Who do you think ended the relationship? The girl or the boy? She says exactly in the lyrics, but right now, you should just guess. How does it feel to you?

What would she do to get him to be with her again? She would probably do anything, but she’s thinking about writing whatever kind of song would work.

Third Listening Answers

The main line of the song is “If a song could get me you”. This is half of a conditional sentence. How might you finish it? (Hint: There are many examples in the song.) She finishes it with lines that start with “I would” or “I could”. For example, she says: “I could try you with a waltz” and “I would prove my love for you”.

When do we use conditionals like this? This conditional is pretty rare. The form is [subject+past modal+base form of verb, if+subject+past modal+base form of verb]. We use it to describe what we would do in future impossible situations. She thinks it’s impossible for him to return, but if it were possible, she would write him a song.

Another example would be: I would study hard, if I would get an A. It means that an A is impossible, so I won’t study hard. But, if an A were possible (in the future), I would study hard (in the future).

Who ended the relationship? How do you know? She did. “I let you go” means she ended the relationship. She sings:

When I let you go you know
I thought it was for the best
Now it is so obvious

I swear to you that if I knew
What I was getting myself into
I wouldn’t answer to my fears
I’d never leave you standing there

What three types of music does she mention in the song? Waltz, Blues, and Rock and Roll.

Other than writing a song for him, what are some other things she says she would do?

Sing it on the radio

I could run for miles and miles
I’d take off and I’d start flying
I could cross land and sea
I could swallow half the moon

Do you have more questions about this song? Ask in the comments!

August 24, 2010 Posted by | How to listen to this..., Using Songs to Teach Grammar | , , , , , , | Leave a comment