Stuart Mill English

How to Learn, How to Teach English

How to listen to this song: She Will Be Loved by Maroon 5

How to listen to this song: “She Will Be Loved” by Maroon 5

You can also listen here, here, or here.

First Listening Questions

What is the song about?

Second Listening Questions

Look at the first four lines of the poem:

Beauty queen of only eighteen
She had some trouble with herself
He was always there to help her
She always belonged to someone else

Who are the two main characters (people) in the song? What is their relationship? Boyfriend and girlfriend? Just friends? Something else? (You can’t know for sure, so just try and guess.)

Now read the lyrics

“She Will Be Loved”

Beauty queen of only eighteen
She had some trouble with herself
He was always there to help her
She always belonged to someone else

I drove for miles and miles
And wound up at your door
I’ve had you so many times but somehow
I want more

I don’t mind spending everyday
Out on your corner in the pouring rain
Look for the girl with the broken smile
And ask her if she wants to stay awhile
And she will be loved
And she will be loved

Tap on my window knock on my door
I want to make you feel beautiful
I know I tend to get so insecure
It doesn’t matter anymore

It’s not always rainbows and butterflies
It’s compromise that moves us along, yeah
My heart is full and my door’s always open
You come anytime you want

I don’t mind spending everyday
Out on your corner in the pouring rain
Look for the girl with the broken smile
Ask her if she wants to stay awhile
And she will be loved
And she will be loved
And she will be loved
And she will be loved

I know where you hide
Alone in your car
Know all of the things that make you who you are
I know that goodbye means nothing at all
Comes back and begs me to catch her every time she falls, yea.

Tap on my window knock on my door
I want to make you feel beautiful

I don’t mind spending everyday
Out on your corner in the pouring rain
Oh, look for the girl with the broken smile
Ask her if she wants to stay awhile
And she will be loved
And she will be loved
And she will be loved
And she will be loved

Please don’t try so hard to say goodbye
Please don’t try so hard to say goodbye

Please don’t try so hard to say goodbye

Please don’t try so hard to say goodbye

Third Listening Questions

What is this song about?

The boy and girl in the song are boyfriend and girlfriend. How do we know?

How did their relationship start?

Is it a happy relationship?

Why does he say “I don’t mind spending every day, out on the corner in the pouring rain.”

What does “Please don’t try so hard to say goodbye” mean?

Third Listening Answers

What is this song about? This song is about a boy and a girl. At first, they’re just friends. Then, they start a relationship, but they break up (stop dating) and get back together a lot. In this song, the boy doesn’t want the relationship to end, but the girl does want it to end.

The boy and girl in the song are boyfriend and girlfriend. How do we know? All of these lines tell us that they are dating:

I’ve had you so many times but somehow I want more. (“I’ve had you” means that he has had her as a girlfriend.)

It’s compromise that moves us along. (This means that compromise improves the relationship.)

I know that goodbye means nothing at all. (If he knows that goodbye means nothing at all, then she said goodbye before and then came back. So, she left the relationship and became his girlfriend again.)

How did their relationship start? At first, they were just friends. He sings: “He was always there to help her. She always belonged to someone else.” It means that she had different boyfriends and he helped her.

Is it a happy relationship? Probably not. He really wants her to come back to him, so they probably fought in the past. He says that “I’ve had you so many times”. That means that they broke up and got back together many times. So, they probably fought a lot.

Why does he say “I don’t mind spending every day, out on the corner in the pouring rain.” It means that he will wait for her (even all day in the rain). He loves her so much, so he doesn’t care.

What does “Please don’t try so hard to say goodbye” mean? It means that he thinks it’s very hard for her to say goodbye. If it’s really hard, he thinks, she shouldn’t do it.

Do you have more questions about this song? Ask in the comments!

October 26, 2010 - Posted by | How to listen to this... | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

